Happy Father’s Day!

Today is usually not a good day for me. My father is completely out of my life. I have a dad, my wonderful amazing step-dad who is a million times more of a man than my real father will ever be. But sometimes I still wish I could have a real relationship with my father. Not a cat and mouse game of who can hurt who more. I haven’t spoken to him in years and all of my sent emails go unanswered. I wonder, how can a man just forget his child? I know he knows what is going on with me, I talk to his mom regularly. He knows how to get in touch with me. When I was little I was daddy’s little girl and then out of no where he just stopped pretending to care. My step-dad on the other hand has been there for me through thick and thin. When he and my mom got married he told me he didn’t want to be replace my father but as time wore on and my father and I’s relationship got more and more strained he stepped up to the bat. I’d like to thank all the amazing step-dads out there and as it turns out, I’m still daddy’s little girl, just a different daddy.

Leave a Reply

